A Pox on Shakespeare Class!

 

Although this past few months of summer have been some of the most stressful of my life, I have definitely been learning to make light even out of the WORST situations (see! I just did it!).

For example: I am currently taking a Shakespeare class. I honestly thought I would enjoy the class…and then I got about three pages into King Lear – not exactly what I would call light summer reading. As much as I have hated coming home after work each day to hundreds of pages of iambic (with no pictures) in a book twice the size of a large dictionary, I often found myself giggling at what I consider some of Shakespeare’s most priceless work: the Shakespearean insults.

Maybe it’s my odd sense of humor, but I think it’s hilarious that some of the most common insults the characters use in Shakespeare are “kite” and “knave” (just say it: knave!). Here are some of my other favorite discoveries:

“You peasant swain! You whoreson malt-horse drudge!” (The Taming of the Shrew)

“A whoreson, beetle-headed, flap-eared knave!” (The Taming of the Shrew)

And the absolute best insult I’ve found so far: (wait for it…)

A knave, a rascal, an eater of broken meats; a base, proud, shallow, beggarly, three-suited, hundred-proud, filthy worsened-stocking knave; a lily-livered, action-taking whoreson, glass-gazing, superserviceable, finical rogue; one-trunk-inheriting slave; one that wouldst be a bawd in the way of good service, and art nothing but the composition of a knave, beggar, coward, pandar and the son and heir of a mungril bitch; one whom I will beat into clamorous whining.” -King Lear 2.2.15-24

Now if you don’t think that’s funny, well then you’re just a knave. But if you were just as amused as me (or just a total dork like me…), then you might also have fun with this: The Shakespearean Insulter. If you find a good one, please let me know so I can use it on my professor…

1 Comment »

  1. Marti said

    Great insults….can’t wait to use them.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

