Back to school. Not that I ever really left.

This semester I am actually excited to start back at UGA, because it’s my last one! I never thought the day would come, but I am finally taking my capstone PR class, PR Campaigns with Dr. Karen Russell. It’s a semester-long group project, and the other members of my group seem great. Our group’s client is Power Partners, Inc., an Athens-based manufacturer of energy transformers. Our work is mainly concerned with their new line of solar water heating systems, which have the potential for some great press coverage (and even legislative opportunities) as homebuilders look for ways to “go green.” I am very excited about getting to know everyone, and putting everything I’ve learned so far to use!

My other classes this semester include companion animal care, drama, softball and a psychology class. I am especially excited about breaking out the old softball glove, though it’s been years since I’ve played so I hope I don’t embarrass myself too badly.

In between my extremely difficult classes (he he!) I decided to take another internship at the Jeanette Rankin Foundation, which provides scholarships to low-income women age 35 and over. It’s been very interesting reading some of the scholars’ stories and learning about some of the obstacles they have overcome. Many of the women tell their stories in the upcoming book Daring to Dream, which will be released very soon. One of my main responsibilities this semester will be to promote this book, and I am very excited about honing my skills writing/ designing press materials and pitch letters.

Between PR Campaigns class and the internship, I am starting to feel like my own little PR agency! I will try to update more often, especially once the great job search begins.

Leave a Reply

