UGA vs. Auburn: a house divided

auburn

This past Saturday, I was able to experience something I’ve been waiting for the whole time I’ve been in college: an Auburn/ GA football game with my dad, an Auburn graduate. My family finally made the journey to his old stomping ground, where my dad enjoyed reminiscing about the toilet paper tree, eating at Guthries, his old college apartment and, of course, how much he can’t stand Georgia fans (no offense taken, old man).

My mom enjoyed cheering for BOTH teams (well, whatever team was losing at the time). Robby, who wore red just so I wouldn’t be the only one, enjoyed the funnel cake, popcorn, Dip-n-Dots and pretzels from the concession stand. And I enjoyed viewing the game from row 13 of the Auburn alumni section. Who knew they actually sit down for some of the game in the alumni section!?

Now I know the Bulldogs were “supposed” to murder Auburn rather than play barely well enough to win, but I have to say it was much more exciting than watching a runaway game. I was pleasantly suprised at how pleasant the Auburn fans were – they were even good sports about it after they lost. In fact, UGA fans could definitely take some tips from them (there’s a reason for our bad reputation).

Maybe next year I can drag pops up to Athens for the game. Then he can listen to my stories about “back in the day, when I was in college…” Weird.

Leave a Reply

