It was the best of times, it was the worst of times: UGA graduation 2008

graduation-010

It was the day I’ve eagerly anticipated for the past four years: my graduation from UGA. As I sat with my fellow students at the Grady commencement ceremony in Hodgson Hall on Dec. 18, there was a mixed sentiment in the air of excitement and uncertainty.  The speakers’ words of praise and encouragement were dotted with reminders that we were entering one of the toughest job markets in recent history. I wanted nothing more than to forget that fact, at least for a while, but they were right to discuss it: it was the truth.

Keynote speaker Carolyn Tieger, borrowing a phrase from Dickens, captured the moment perfectly: “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” She added, “When you tell people that you graduated in 2008, you will certainly get their attention!” She went on to discuss the importance of perserverance in the job search, offering several useful tidbits of advice. She even reassured us that it’s okay to live with parents for a little while, which came as a relief to me since that is where I am right now.

If anything, my time at college has taught me perserverance and humility. I’ve received bad grades on projects and papers I’ve poured my heart into. I’ve been turned down for internships, jobs and other opportunities. I’ve made mistakes. But I’ve also learned to turn these failures into learning opportunities and, in fact, not to think of them as failures, but necessary experiences on the road to success. It’s that old cliche: “What doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger.”

Thanks to my wonderful family and friends, I had a great graduation week. My parents came up and took us to a wonderful dinner at Last Resort. My 12-year-old brother (and equally antsy boyfriend) sat patiently through the graduation ceremony. My friend Becky and I had a joint graduation party in our hometown, and were showered with gifts and kind words from our amazing family friends. Each time I was asked if I had a job lined up, I was able to smile and simply say, “Nope!” They believe in me, and that’s all that matters right now. (Click here for some more pictures from graduation).

Congratulations to all other recent graduates, and thank you to all of my wonderful supervisors, professors and colleagues who have encouraged me along the way.

2 Comments »

  1. Sarah said

    Christie — I really enjoyed reading this post and loved seeing your picture at the Arches (you know, a picture says a thousand words). I have no doubt that you are on the verge of an incredible career and as someone who knows your talent and work ethic personally, I know you will make an incredible addition to any team. I can’t wait to see where you land!

  2. Tom Hudson said

    Christie–Congratulations on finishing what I think of as an outstanding run at the University of Georgia. You are about to walk through that mysterious door known as “the rest of your life.” Don’t fret. The pathway you’ve marked for yourself can only bring you success because it is a person’s attitude about life that determines success. You are well prepared by your family and friends for a lifetime of exceptional achievement. Enjoy this time of your life: keep writing and your writing will lead you into even more exciting adventures. Keep me posted. I’m very happy for you.Best wishes.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

